Added on 2/3/2022

The FIDE Grand Prix 2022 is a series of three tournaments, to be played between 3 February and 4 April 2022 in Berlin, Germany, and Belgrade, Serbia. The Three tournaments have relevant importance not only because most of the best players in the world are participating. Indeed, the two top finishers will get a spot in the Candidates' Tournament, to be held in June this year.

As for now, the players who qualified to play in the Candidates' are:


Ian Nepomniachtchi (runner-up of the World Championship Match) Teimour Radjabov (nominated by FIDE) Jan-Jan-Krzysztof Duda (winner of the Chess World Cup 2021) Sergey Karjakin (runner-up of the chess World Cup 2021) Alireza Firouzja (winner of the FIDE Grand Swiss 2021) Fabiano Caruana (runner-up of the FIDE Grand Swiss 2021)



The two top finishers of the Grand Prix series will complete the lineup for the Candidates.

The three GP tournaments are organized as follows:


There is a total of 24 participants. All of them will play in two of the three events. Each event sees the participation of 16 players. The 16 players are divided into four pools. In each pool, the participants play a double round-robin (6 rounds). the four players who emerge victorious from the pools, play the semifinals.


The winner of Pool A plays the winner of Pool B, and the winner of Pool C plays the winner of Pool D.Eventually, the players who win the semifinals will face each other in the final.

In Berlin, the 1st GP event lineup is as follows:




Aleksander Grischuk Hikaru Nakamura Andrey Esipenko Etienne Bacrot Radoslaw Wojtaszek Richard Rapport Vladimir Fedoseev Grigoriy Oparin Levon Aronian Vidit Gujrathi Daniil Dubov Vincent Keymer Wesley So Leinier Dominguez Pentala Harikrishna Alexei Shirov For each of the three tournaments, the Grand Prix points will be awarded as follows:


Winner 13 Runner-up 10 Semifinal loser 7 Second in pool 4 Third in pool 2 Fourth in pool  0


The Grand Prix points for pool placings take into account tie-breaks played to determine first place. Players tied for other places, or still tied after tie-breaks, share grand prix points.

If players finish tied on Grand Prix points, then the following tie-breaks are applied, in order:

number of tournament first-place finishes; number of tournament second-place finishes; number of points scored in regular time limit games; number of wins in regular time limit games; drawing of lots.

Play starts Friday, February the 4th at 9 AM EST - 15:00 local (CET) - 14:00 UTC  

Complete schedule:


 Thursday, February 3   Opening ceremony Friday, February 4 9 AM EST Pools, Round 1 Saturday, February 5 9 AM EST Pools, Round 2 Sunday, February 6 9 AM EST Pools, Round 3 Monday, February 7 9 AM EST Pools, Round 4 Tuesday, February 8   FREE DAY Wednesday, February 9 9 AM EST Pools, Round 5 Thursday, February 10 9 AM EST Pools, Round 6 Friday, February 11 9 AM EST Tie-breaks Saturday, February 12 9 AM EST Semifinals - Game 1 Sunday, February 13 9 AM EST Semifinals - Game 2 Monday, February 14 9 AM EST Semifinals - Tiebreaks Tuesday, February 15 9 AM EST Final - Game 1 Wednesday, February 16 9 AM EST Final - Game 2 Thursday, February 17 9 AM EST Final - Tiebreaks